Purchase Printed Music

The following scores are available for purchase. Many can be downloaded directly through this site as PDFs (one printout per purchase; photocopying is prohibited under copyright law). If you are interested in a work not listed here, please contact Ben.

Available for Purchase

Ben Moore: 14 Songs

Published by G. Schirmer, Inc.
On sale now at Amazon.com

  • In the Dark Pinewood (text James Joyce)
  • The Lake Isle of Innisfree (text W.B. Yeats)
  • I Am in Need of Music (text Elizabeth Bishop)
  • When I Was One-and-Twenty (text A. E. Housman)
  • To the Virgins to Make Much of Time (text Robert Herrick)
  • Darkling I Listen (text John Keats)
  • Bright Cap and Streamers (text James Joyce)
  • I Would in that Sweet Bosom Be (text James Joyce)
  • The Ivy-wife (text Thomas Hardy)
  • The Lover Pleads with His Friend for Old Friends (text W.B. Yeats)
  • Annie Laurie (text William Morris)
  • This Heart That Flutters (text James Joyce)
  • The Cloak, the Boat and the Shoes (text W.B. Yeats)
  • On Music (text Ben Moore)
Dear Theo (song cycle)
 — 29 pages

Seven songs based on the letters of Vincent van Gogh to his brother Theo

Tenor Voice and Piano

  • The Red Vineyard
  • I Found a Woman
  • Little One
  • The Man I Have to Paint
  • When I'm at Work
  • Already Broken
  • Souvenir
Eight Songs (collection)
 — 34 pages

Voice and Piano

  • Lullaby (Christina Rossetti, 1830-1894)
  • Requiem (Robert Louis Stevenson, 1850-1894)
  • Hope is the Thing with Feathers (Emily Dickinson, 1830-1886)
  • When You Are Old (W. B. Yeats, 1865-1939)
  • Crazy Jane Talks with the Bishop (W. B. Yeats, 1865-1939)
  • Simples (James Joyce, 1882-1941)
  • Ah! Happy, Happy Boughs (John Keats, 1795-1821)
  • Where Are the Songs of Spring? (John Keats, 1795-1821)
Cabaret and Theater Songs (collection)
 — 30 pages

Medium-High Voice and Piano
Music and lyrics by Ben Moore

  • See How a Flower Blossoms
  • Lonely Room
  • Were I to Touch You
  • I Believe
  • Let the Walls Fall Down
  • Let Me Explain
  • Where Has Summer Gone?
So Free Am I (song cycle)
 — 28 pages

Soprano Voice and Piano
Commissioned by the Marilyn Horne Foundation and the ASCAP Foundation/Charles Kingsford Fund.

  • Mutta (anonymous, 6th century B. C.)
  • Interlude (Amy Lowell, 1874-1825)
  • Orinda Upon Little Hector Philips (Katherine Philips, 1631-1664)
  • Nervous Prostration (Anna Wickham, 1884-1947)
  • Social Note (Dorothy Parker, 1893-1967)
  • The Poem as Mask — Orpheus (Muriel Rukeyser, 1913-1980)
  • Mettika (anonymous, 6th century B. C.)
Love Remained (song cycle)
 — 24 pages

Four songs concerning LGBT youth
Baritone Voice and Piano

Texts include transcripts from the “It Gets Better” video project and the “Hope Speech” of Harvey Milk. Commissioned by SongFusion in 2011.

  • Hold On (Based on a speech by Joel Burns)
  • Uncle Ronnie (Based on a letter of Randy Robert Potts)
  • Love Remained (Poem by Michael Kelly)
  • Hope (based on a speech by Harvey Milk)

Comedy Songs

Sexy Lady
 — 9 pages

For mezzo-Soprano (written for Susan Graham)

A comic catalog of complaints of a mezzo stuck doing pants roles. Includes quotes from Mozart, Straus and Handel.

We Love the Opera
 — 11 pages

Duet for soprano or mezzo and baritone

Features a couple who are having a hard time agreeing on which operas to attend, to say the least.

Wagner Roles
 — 10 pages

For Soprano (written for Deborah Voigt)

The complaints of a Wagnerian soprano who’d rather be singing lighter roles

The Audience Song
 — 9 pages

For mezzo or soprano (written for Susan Graham)

Sends up the stereotypes of the opera-going audience

I’m Glad I’m Not a Tenor
 — 10 pages

For Baritone

Features many of the great melodies written for baritones even as Puccini’s Nessun Dorma keeps creeping in

I Love Teaching Voice
 — 16 pages

For soprano (written for Deborah Massell)

Includes every imaginable challenge and joy of teaching classical voice with quotes from lots of standard repertory

Content to Be Behind Me
 — 11 pages

For soprano (written for Deborah Voigt and Brian Zeger)

Features the pianist in a mock competition between singer and accompanist with excerpts including Rachmaninoff and Schubert


Other Collections

The Opera America Songbook – Voice and Piano

Collection includes “The Time to Begin” (p.147)

Published by Schott Music
On sale now at Amazon.com

The G. Schirmer Collection of American Art Song

Collection includes “The Cloak, the Boat and the Shoes” (p. 181)

Published by G. Schirmer, Inc.
High Voice: On sale now at Amazon.com
Low Voice: On sale now at Amazon.com